Federal Drug Penalties and Fact Sheets
Local Alcohol and Drug Laws
(courtesy of GWU) See link above
DC and Marijuana update
Note: On July 17, 2014 possession of one ounce or less of marijuana in DC (while not in public) was decriminalized but is still a civil violation and a violation of federal law. See the MPD Summmary Fact Sheet. Possession of this substance is also still a violation of the Student Code of Conduct.
On Feb. 26, 2015 D.C. Initiative 71 became effective and makes it legal for anyone 21 years of age or older in DC to
- possess up to two ounces of marijuana for personal use;
- grow no more than six cannabis plants with 3 or fewer being mature, flowering plants, within the person’s principal residence;
- transfer without payment (but not sell) up to one ounce of marijuana to another person 21 years of age or older; and
- use or sell drug paraphernalia for the use, growing, or processing of marijuana or cannabis.
Please note the Student Code of Conduct is still applicable regardless of DC Intiative 71. See the Dean of Students web page.
Maryland Marijuana Update
On October 1, 2014 the Maryland law regulating the use of marijuana changed. It is no longer a criminal offense to possess 10 grams or less of marijuana. Instead, it is a civil offense and a citation or fine will be issued. Regardless, the Code of Student Conduct forbids the possession of marijuana on campus. See the Maryland General Assembly web page for more information.
DC Alcohol Law & Penalties*
Codifed at DC Code §25-1002
ID requirements for individuals
§25-1002 (b) (1) No person shall falsely represent his or her age, or possess or present as proof of age an identification document which is in any way fraudulent, for the purpose of purchasing, possessing, or drinking an alcoholic beverage in the District.
§25-1002 (2) No person shall present a fraudulent identification document for the purpose of entering an establishment possessing an on-premises retailer's license, an Arena C/X license, or a temporary license.
Individual Fake ID Penalty for Individuals Under 21
• §25-1002(c)(4)(D): No person under the age of 21 shall be criminally charged with the offense of possession or drinking an alcoholic beverage under this section, but shall be subject to civil penalties under subsection (e) of this section.
• §25-1002 (e) (1) In lieu of criminal prosecution as provided in subsection (c) of this section, a person who violates any provision of this section shall be subject to the following civil penalties:
(A) Upon the first violation, a fine of not more than $ 300 and the suspension of driving privileges in the District for 90 consecutive days;
(B) Upon the second violation, a fine of not more than $ 600 and the suspension of driving privileges in the District for 180 days; and
(C) Upon the third or subsequent violation, a fine of not more than $ 1,000 and the suspension of driving privileges in the District for one year.
(2) ABRA inspectors or officers of the Metropolitan Police Department may enforce the provisions of this subsection by issuing a notice of civil infraction for a violation of subsections (a) and (b) of this section in accordance with Chapter 18 of Title 2. A violation of this subsection shall be adjudicated under Chapter 18 of Title 2.
(3) (A) In lieu of or in addition to the civil penalties provided under paragraph (1) of this subsection, as a civil penalty, the Mayor may require any person who violates any provision of this section to complete a diversion program authorized and approved by the Mayor. The Mayor shall determine the content of the diversion program, which may include community service, and alcohol awareness and education.
(B) As a condition to acceptance into a diversion program, the Mayor may request that the person agree to pay the District, or its agents, a reasonable fee, as established by rule, for the costs to the District of the person's participation in the program; provided, that:
• (i) The fee shall not unreasonably discourage persons from entering the diversion program; and
• (ii) The Mayor may reduce or waive the fee if the Mayor finds that the person is indigent.
21 year old making alcohol available to minors (penalties)- DC Code §25-785
(c) (1) Upon conviction for the first offense, be fined not more than $ 1,000, or imprisoned up to 180 days, or both;
(2) Upon conviction for the second offense committed within 2 years from the date of any such previous offense, be fined not more than $ 2,500, or imprisoned up to 180 days, or both;
(3) Upon conviction for the third or any subsequent offense committed within 2 years from the date of any such previous offense, be fined not more than $ 5,000, or imprisoned up to one year, or both.
new page 3-28-14 mlo/szg; updated mlo on 10-27-16